It Begins!


I warned you! The Arts for All Marathon has begun. For more information, see my post about the event. Here is my first poem:

Shopping List

To start, I’ll take a smiler
and add him to my ranks.
I’ll have a weeping horde
but just the still ones, thanks.

Perhaps I’ll take a shadow
or maybe two or four.
And I’ll need the mimic monster
that crept through the door.

Some howling beasts?
Yes, please. Thank you.
A Satan myth?
Don’t mind if I do.

They’ll fit quite well in my blue box.
Don’t snap your fingers, the door unlocks.

I’ll store them in the deepest reaches
I’ve never feared these sorts of creatures.

Oh, and one more thing, before I go.
Allons-y, Geronimo!

Thanks for reading, everyone! Remember to guess what this poem is referencing. Also, watch Doubts About Dorming’s promotional video for this poetry event!

Please donate any amount of money for CSMA here.

  1. 1. ZOMG DOCTOR WHO POEM LOVE.

    2. Seriously, that is a great poem. It captures the Doctor’s nonchalance perfectly. (Allons-y has a dash, not an apostrophe, though.)

    3. You and Christina are too much. Awesome video! Was that bit where you were reciting the poems all one shot? I’m impressed, I would’ve started laughing.

    • Thanks, Caitlin! I changed that punctuation mix-up. I’m not sure how that happened….

      Yes, that dialogue was all one shot. It was probably the first time we managed a take without laughing!

  2. OK, Miss Geek, I got this one (cuz I was a Dr. Who fan long before you were even a twinkle in your father’s eye) but I might falter when it comes to Josh Wheden.

    I’m pledging $26.20.

    • Dr. C
    • September 28th, 2010

    I am pledging 30.00. Good luck and I loved the video. As you remember “I am no poemist” but I will read and try. Dr. C

    • Roberta Georgiou
    • September 29th, 2010

    Oh, Sarah, it’s so wonderful to hear from you and see that creative spark in you is ever-brightening. I’m donating $25.00.

    • Thank you so much! I’m so glad you’re able to keep an eye on my writing!

    • PaydayPaul
    • October 16th, 2010

    Since I was the afore-mentioned guy with the gleam in his eye, and insisted your name had to be Sarah Jane, there was no way I could miss this one, not even with a long – a VERY long – scarf wrapped around my eyes!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

