Day 16–Echoes and Ghosts


If you still don’t know what’s going on, see my original post here and be sure to donate if you’re able to CSMA (please give my name on the memo line).

Echoes and Ghosts

A sheen of dust
muffles the memories.
I still hear them laughing,
hands raised slowly
with hesitant answers
in fresh minds.

Rows of desks sit,
now decrepit,
in the shadows
of a long forgotten room.

I hear the echoing of feet
down hallways,
the rustle of clothing,
a book hits the ground.

Sound reverberates
off of low ceilings,
cement walls.
A bell rings
and footsteps hurry.
Chuckling follows,
calls of greeting and goodbye.

The day ends,
another bell has rung.
Metal opens metal,
paper shuffles,
halls empty.

Chains close on gates,
doors are locked,
silence falls.
Relief turns into disbelief,
where did it all go?

I stand in familiar halls
long empty of their occupants
and wonder just the same.
And I listen for the ever present sounds
of echoes and ghosts.

  1. Oooooh, very creepy. I like it!

    • PaydayPaul
    • October 16th, 2010

    I like it too. I’ve been in those same hallways. The older I get, the more often I inhabit them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

