Day 25–Grey Matter


If you still don’t know what’s going on, see my original post here and be sure to donate if you’re able to CSMA (please give my name on the memo line).

And now for something completely different! This is a poem that is made from scraps of music and quotes that I enjoy, and also from some of the crazy things that collide in my brain. Recognize anything?

Grey Matter

There was once a boy
With stardust for eyes
With the moon in his hair
And his feet in the night.

He searched for something
And it searched for him.
Starless night swallowed day
The words left unspoken.

And you’re in a desert
Walking along in the sand
And the sand turns to paper
To old photographs.

Folded
And yellowed
And torn
At the edge.

And life is full of great love
And of small disasters
Glass and romance novels
And all that comes after.

I close my eyes to see you once more
Because slowly I’m losing your face.
And she said we are lost, we are not gone
It’s a beauty that we can’t replace.

But the memories fade
Moments lost in time
Like tears in rain
And this heart of mine.

And we know
That all we’ll ever learn
Is to give of our love
Receive love in return.

  1. THAT. IS. EPIC. Omg wow.

    Seriously that is SO COOL. Although it’s frustrating because for basically every line I’m going “wait… that’s so familiar… I know that… where do I know that from?!?!?” and I can never quite figure it out.

    But I love this.

    • Aw thank you!!! I was a little nervous about it. And I’m writing another one like this tomorrow!

    • Caley
    • October 22nd, 2010

    I really like it!! It’s awesome (like you!)

    😀

    • PaydayPaul
    • October 22nd, 2010

    So much is so familiar, but just out of reach…

    There was a boy
    A very strange enchanted boy…

    The greatest thing
    you’ll ever learn
    is just to love
    and be loved in return.

    BTW — You are surpassing yourself! These are WONDERFUL!!!

    • That Belle
    • October 23rd, 2010

    OMG HAI! Its Anna, lol. You used bits of ‘The Ocean’ by The Bravery. I LOVE THAT SONG. I really like this one. This one and the raincoat one. ❤

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

