Cape Fringe


The Fringe Cape, the Cape of Fringe…I don’t know where I’m going with this. But clearly, this post is going to be about The Cape and Fringe.

First, The Cape, because I did promise.

So, from a visual standpoint, I’m pretty pleased. Yes, the special effects are truly pitiful, but I really like Vince’s costume:

(and his face–what? Who said that?)

Also, I’m loving the intro. It’s so comic book-licious.

Not surprisingly, the show is pretty high on the cheese factor. I’m getting incredibly sick of the random flashbacks to happier days. It was appropriate for the sequence in “Tarot” when Vince was on the verge of death by poisoning, but it lived on into the next episode, and I’m not pleased with that. The dialogue could use some help as well, but David Lyons (Vince) and Summer Glau (Orwell) carry it well. As per usual, I’m impressed with Summer’s overall performance and, heavy handed as it was, I loved the scene in “KOZMO” in which she performed on the tissue, superimposed with Chess’s ballerina music box. (Can anyone guess who Orwell really is? God, I’m like Sherlock Holmes.)

I think it’s become a rule of television that Summer Glau must do something ballet related in every role she takes. Quite right, television gods. Quite right.

Don’t believe me?

Exhibit A:

Exhibit B (in awesome fan-vid form): 

Exhibit C:

Enough about The Cape. Clearly, I’m on a Fringe kick lately, so let’s continue that, shall we? And let’s continue it in the form of everyone’s favourite rant: FOX is evil!

You may have heard of FOX’s Friday night death slot. It’s where they like to shove their sci-fi shows and then feign shock when those shows  fail and have to be cancelled. Let’s recount all the brilliant sci-fi shows on FOX that have found themselves in that slot (it’s an abridged list, because I’ve only included the shows I care about. You’re reading my blog, expect bias.):

Dark Angel (2000-2002) 

Firefly (2002-2003) 

Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles (2008-2009)

Dollhouse (2009-2010)

Well, now Fringe has entered the death slot, and I can already see FOX digging the show’s grave. So unfair. SO not cool. So FOX. That should just be an adjective from now on. Like, when the Terminator killed Kyle Reese? That was so FOX. When Anakin Skywalker murdered all those Padawan learners? Totally FOX.

I’d call this a productive post. Do me a favour and add FOX to your lexicon. Good night and good luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

