Am I Slow Or…? (A Justice League #1 Review)


Alright, here’s the deal: I was busy moving into college and coping with major family drama when Justice League #1 came out, so I didn’t buy it right away. I figured, “No big. I’ll get it from TFAW (my absolute favourite website) once things have calmed down and I’ve gotten my first paycheck.” And then it sold out.

“Why is this happening to me?” I asked, in real distress. Alright, I realize that selling 200,000 copies in a first printing isn’t exactly groundbreaking in the comic book ‘verse, but I wanted to read this fraking title! I called my comic book shop back home, and yes, they’d sold every copy of the first printing already (why didn’t I pre-order?!). I was in trouble.

Luckily, I found myself in downtown Ithaca waiting for a friend, with a little time on my hands and a five dollar bill in my pocket. So I poked my head into the local comic book shop, which has, in the past, been a bit of a disappointment–in knowledge if not in stock. And lo and behold: they had four copies of the first printing left! I was thrilled.

Justiceleague v2 01.jpg

Bored of my thrilling tale? I’ll get right down to the review. First off aesthetics. I was seduced by the smell of the pages alone. And, not surprisingly, the art was brilliant. I’m a sucker for Lee’s style, and was thoroughly impressed with Williams. Lee goes for a very angular look, I think–a little bit edgier (literally) than some of the other artists I tend to favour–and that works really well for the straightforward, nitty-gritty story Johns sets up.

Which brings me to the writing. I loved Green Lantern. He was funny, cocky, and talked about himself in the third person. Perfect! The story line itself was a bit dry, which is surprising given how action-heavy it is. I would have liked something with a little more depth to begin with, but the characterization was spot on, and isn’t that really what this “renumbering” is all about? (Okay, maybe that’s just me.)

I’ll end with a non-rhetorical question for anyone who’s read issue #1. Am I slow, or is there a bit of dialogue about halfway through that just doesn’t make sense? Lantern’s being a douche and Batman says, “Quiet” and points. Lantern replies, “What?! What are you–?!” then sees Batman pointing at Darkseid’s suicide bomber and continues, “I, uh, sorry. I thought you were looking for a–”

Um…what? Is this a joke that I’m just not getting? I’ve read the whole comic through twice and I’m still confused. Someone help!

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

